Alternative Classics

since 1979

Once upon a time... Hartford

Imagined by Yves Chareton in the United States in 1979, the Hartford project revisits American wardrobe classics, bringing them a twist of modernity. A decisive meeting was to launch the adven-ture, when a New York manufacturer sold him old stocks of Oxford and chambray fabric that were impossible to find on the market and which were ideal to make the first vintage-inspired Hartford shirts.


The studio returned to Paris a few years later. The brand structured itself and began its commercial development: the collections grew in size and became synonymous with faultless materials and style.


By mixing European influences with a very west coast casual style, the brand quickly gained cult status on both sides of the Atlantic. It’s not surprising that Bruce Springsteen and Eric Clapton soon became unconditional fans…


Since then, the brand has kept pace with the times while preserving its cherished family values.

Once upon a time... Hartford

A very US casual chic style

Made in the USA Inspiration
Hartford collections are steeped in the spirit of the 60s, from California to the Hamptons, from folk rock to the beginnings of surfing. They are also impregnated with the images of the creator’s childhood home in the Landes region of France, tucked between the Atlantic Ocean and its wild dunes. Hartford became the brand for lovers of the sea and adepts of a chic and casual lifestyle.


A philosophy: "Alternative Classics"
At Hartford, the "Classics" aspect is to be found in the fabric and the cuts: the garments are made from the finest European fabrics, such as French linen, cotton fabrics from Albini in Italy, Maruwa in Japan, or Liberty.
The "Alternative" stands for amusing and elegant details, such as the tiny Hawaiian dancers embroidered on a shirt, Tahitian flowers on swim shorts, or polka dots on a skirt… An indispensable touch of humor.

Timeless collections

Hartford today offers a complete and modern wardrobe for men and women of all generations. Fine and true classics designed to become absolute must-haves!


Loyal to its initial vision, Men collections are a subtle mixture of casual style and refinement. It includes emblematic pieces such as button-down shirts in Oxford or denim, military or unstructured jackets, pleated pants and not to mention vintage-inspired swimwear.


Now a Hartford essential, the Women collection borrows menswear fabrics to offer boho-inspired, urban garments. Shirts and tops, printed shirts, straight or boyfriend pants, suit jackets, or wool peacoats: this is the Hartford woman.


The Kids collection resumes the codes of Hartford : a casual wardrobe, the importance of fabrics and cuts, with a fun touch of color or trendy prints.

Men

Men

Beachwear - from the Hamptons to the Landes

Beachwear comes naturally to Hartford. Between American casual, Californian landscapes, the sun of the Landes and the chic of the Riviera, the collections are designed as lifestyle clothing to wear from the beach to the city.


In this collection, you’ll find men’s plain or print swimwear and women’s tunics, always using fine fabrics like linen for the shirts, t-shirts and shorts, and all in colors that immediately evoke summer vacations.

International renown

The most prestigious international retailers very quickly fell under the charm, including Le Bon Marché, Merci and Club 55 in France, Isetan in Tokyo, Barney's in New York, Ron Herman in Los Angeles and Mr Porter online.
Today, Hartford collections are distributed in over 1000 points of sale throughout the world. Regular collaborations with brands like J. Crew or Club Monaco have enabled Hartford to open its studio to international designers.
Hartford also possesses a network of ten brand-owned boutiques: in the Marais, Place des Victoires and Saint-Germain des Prés in Paris, in Bordeaux and Hossegor, but also in St Bart’s and Turkey.

International renown
Where are we?
All stores
Our locations

Don't miss a thing !

Stay up to date and enjoy free shipping on your first order at hartford.fr

Alternative Classics

since 1979

Il était une fois : Hartford

Revoir les classiques du vestiaire américain en leur apportant un twist de modernité, voilà le projet d’Hartford, imaginé par Yves Chareton aux Etats-Unis en 1979. Une rencontre déterminante lancera l’aventure : un fabricant new-yorkais lui vend des vieux stocks de tissu oxford et chambray, parfaits pour confectionner les premières chemises Hartford à l’esprit vintage, introuvables sur le marché.


Quelques années plus tard, le studio revient à Paris. La marque se structure et le développement commercial démarre : les collections s’élargissent et deviennent garantes d’un sans-faute en termes de matières et de style.


En mélangeant les influences européennes à une esthétique décontractée très west coast, la marque devient rapidement culte des deux côtés de l’Atlantique. Pas étonnant que Bruce Springsteen ou Eric Clapton soient vite devenus des inconditionnels…


Depuis, la marque a su évoluer pour rester en phase avec son temps, tout en préservant les valeurs familiales qui lui sont chères.

Il était une fois : Hartford

Un casual chic très US

Inspiration made in USA
L’esprit des 60’s, de la Californie aux Hampton’s, du rock folk aux débuts du surf, mais aussi les images des Landes entre Océan Atlantique et dunes sauvages, pays d’enfance du créateur, imprègnent toutes les collections. Hartford devient la marque des amoureux de la mer adeptes d’un lifestyle chic et décontracté.


Une philosophie : « Alternative Classics »
Chez Hartford, l’aspect « Classics » se retrouve dans les matières et les coupes : les vêtements sont confectionnés à partir des meilleurs tissus européens comme le lin français, les cotons de chez Albini en Italie, de la maison Maruwa au Japon, ou de chez Liberty par exemple. Les coupes impeccables des chemises en chambray ou en oxford et les pulls en laines merinos, alpaga et en cachemire suscitent le respect de tout le milieu de la mode.
L’« Alternative », ce sont les détails amusants et élégants, comme ces minuscules danseuses hawaïennes brodées sur une chemise, des fleurs de vahiné sur un maillot ou des petits pois sur une jupe… Une indispensable petite dose d’humour.

Des collections intemporelles

Hartford propose aujourd’hui un vestiaire moderne complet qui habille les femmes et les hommes de toutes les générations. De vrais beaux et bons classiques, absolument essentiels !


L'Homme est un subtil mélange de décontraction et raffinement. On retrouve des pièces phares comme les chemises button-down, déclinées en oxford ou en denim, les vestes militaires ou déstructurées, sans oublier les maillots de bains d’inspiration retro.


Incontournable chez Hartford, la Femme emprunte des matières au vestiaire masculin pour un esprit à la fois bohème et urbain. Blouses ou liquettes, chemises imprimées, pantalons droits ou boyfriend, vestes de costume ou cabans en laine : voilà la femme Hartford.


La collection Kids reprend les codes de la maison Hartford : vestiaire décontracté et choix des matières, avec une touche amusante et tendance.

Beachwear : des Hamptons aux Landes

Chez Hartford, le beachwear est une évidence. Entre le casual américain, les paysages californiens, le soleil des Landes et le chic de la Riviera, les collections sont pensées comme des vêtements lifestyle à porter de la plage à la ville.


On trouve dans cette collection des maillots pour Homme unis ou imprimés, des tuniques pour Femmes, et toujours de jolies matières comme le lin pour les chemises, les t-shirts et les bermudas, le tout dans des couleurs d'été qui évoquent immédiatement les vacances.

Une reconnaissance internationale

Très vite, les revendeurs internationaux les plus prestigieux sont séduits comme Le Bon Marché, Merci ou Le Club 55 en France, Isetan à Tokyo, Barney's à New York, Ron Herman à Los Angeles ou MrPorter en ligne.


Aujourd’hui, les collections Hartford sont distribuées dans plus de 1'000 points de vente à travers le monde. Des collaborations régulières avec des marques comme J. Crew ou Club Monaco permettent à Hartford d’ouvrir son studio à des designers internationaux.


Hartford possède aussi un réseau d’une dizaine de boutiques en propre: à Paris dans le Marais, Place des Victoires et à Saint-Germain des Prés, à Bordeaux et Hossegor mais aussi à Saint-Barth et en Turquie.

Une reconnaissance internationale
Où nous trouver ?
Nos boutiques
Les adresses

Restez au courant !

Pour recevoir nos actualités et nos bons plans, inscrivez-vous à notre newsletter